What Are the Fines and Penalties for a Texas DWI?

Texas takes its driving while intoxicated (DWI) laws seriously. Lawmakers do not go easy on the accused and impose significant legal consequences for convictions, including jail time, fines, rehabilitation, and court costs.

If law enforcement charged you with a DWI in Dallas recently, speaking with a Dallas DWI lawyer will help you understand your options alongside possible defenses to your case. The belief that you are innocent until proven guilty is your right, even if you feel like no one is treating you with this level of civil courtesy.

In this post, the legal team at Steven Wright Law helps you understand the various fines and penalties associated with a Texas DWI conviction. While the information presented below is informational, it is always best to seek the counsel of a licensed attorney in Texas for specific legal advice.

DWI Lawyer Texas
Photographer: Dan Gold | Source: Unsplash

Texas takes it driving while intoxicated (DWI) laws seriously. Lawmakers do not go easy on the accused and impose significant legal consequences for convictions, including jail time, fines, rehabilitation, and court costs.

If law enforcement charged you with a DWI in Dallas recently, speaking with a Dallas DWI lawyer will help you understand your options alongside possible defenses to your case. The belief that you are innocent until proven guilty is your right, even if you feel like no one is treating you with this level of civil courtesy.

In this post, the legal team at Steven Wright Law helps you understand the various fines and penalties associated with a Texas DWI conviction. While the information presented below is informational, it is always best to seek the counsel of a licensed attorney in Texas for specific legal advice.

Texas DWI Penalties by Degree of Offense

Texas DWI laws offer strict sentencing guidelines for individuals convicted of this offense. The punishment’s severity hinges upon several factors, including whether a minor was involved, if this was your first offense, and whether people or property sustained damage as a result of the alleged drunk or drugged driving.

In general, the following sentencing guidelines apply to DWI cases in Texas:

1st Offense

A DWI first offense, depending on your BAC (blood alcohol concentration) may carry a fine of up to $2,000, which is not including the administrative “superfine”, and 6 months in jail. If your BAC is shown to be above a .15 then the charge jumps from a class B to a class A. This jump can increase your fine to $4,000 and 1 year in jail. The state can also suspend your drivers’ license. You may also have to set up an ignition interlock device on your vehicle and go to a DWI intervention or education program.

2nd Offense

A 2nd DWI offense in Texas carries similar penalties to a first-time offender. However, jail time for this offense, regardless of your BAC starts out with a possible $4,000 fine and 1 year in county jail.

3rd Offense or Greater

The penalties associated with a DWI 3rd in Texas is no longer a misdemeanor. A DWI 3rd jumps to a 3rd degree felony. It carries a fine of up to $10,000 and 10 years in state jail.

Some DWI charges, regardless of if it is your 1st offense or your 3rd will automatically jump to the level of a felony. If you have an open alcohol container, or a child in your vehicle, it will automatically jump the charge to a felony.

A DWI in Texas Can Happen to Anyone

Sometimes well-meaning, law-abiding individuals are wrongly accused of DWI in Texas every day. Traffic stops, field sobriety tests, and arrest procedures are standardized throughout the United States, and police offers do not always understand the bigger picture when it comes to arresting Texas residents lawfully for a DWI.

Just because charges are pending against you, does not mean that you are guilty. You still have rights and a defensible case.

If you were arrested for a DWI, it is time to reach out to an empathetic and tenacious DWI lawyer in Dallas at Steven Wright Law. You can get in touch with my legal team by calling (469) 562-4000 or sending me a message through my secure contact form.

Published with StoryChief

Leave a Comment